Skip to content

Composition and Approach

The Committee is an ad hoc group comprised of Federal experts from interested agencies.  The current agencies supporting the Committee include the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Environment and Climate Change Canada, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, the Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the U.S. Geological Survey, and Natural Resources Canada.  The Committee consists of six Members: a Co-Chair, Member and Secretary for each of the two countries. The Committee generally meets twice annually, alternating locations between the United States and Canada.

The Committee currently has four Subcommittees: Vertical Control – Water Levels, Hydraulics, Hydrology, and Coordinated Regulation and Routing Model Update. These Subcommittees are directed to conduct the required technical studies through collaboration with the appropriate agencies of Canada and the United States.  Subcommittees typically have two Co-Leads, appointed by the Committee, one each from the United States and Canada.  The Subcommittees coordinate methods of data collection, data computation methods, messaging initiatives and other topics defined by conditions in detail.  Occasionally, additional Subcommittees are formed in order to accomplish certain tasks.